Austin

Juan in a Million: The Famous Taco Challenge

In Breakfast, Dish Review, East Austin, Mason Scheer on December 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm

The Don Juan Taco. Photo by Mason Scheer

By Mason Scheer

Juan in a Million has been featured on the show “Man vs. Food”. The host faced the Don Juan Challenge. In order to win, he had to eat 8 Don Juan Tacos, and set the new record. In one of the rare losses for the host, he didn’t even come close, eating 4.

So I had to at least try it.

Outside Juan in a Million. Photo by Mason Scheer

We took our seats, and started placing our orders. I noticed my friends were pairing up, splitting a single Don Juan between them. I had never been, they had, so clearly they knew something I didn’t. I didn’t let that stop me, and I ordered one for myself.

The Don Juan is a giant beast of a breakfast taco. Served with warm tortillas, it is a mountain of eggs, bacon, cheese, and potatoes. The first bite i had was delicious. I took my first tortilla, and made a taco for myself. The bacon was amazing, not too crispy or soft, yet not overpowering either. I finished my first tortilla, confident that not only could I finish, I might even be man enough to have another. I wasn’t going for the record, but I wanted to prove my dominance over food.

That didn’t happen.

I finished half of my mountain, before I hit the wall. The Don Juan is pure starch. Delicious, delicious starch. I had to throw in the towel, a defeated, but very full and satisfied foe.

This nice family restaurant in south Austin closes at 3, so get there early. I failed in my quest to win the challenge. Can you?

  1. I love this place and the don juan! Yeah I remember going with a bunch of guy friends who were all confident that they could finish one each but only one of them did. Then he couldn’t eat anything else for the next 8 hours or so. Good stuff.

  2. If I didn’t have a baby in my belly taking up the room, I could be up for the challenge. I’m a big eater!

  3. My husband eats a whole Don Juan every time we go to Juan in a Million. I could never aim my sights so high, so I always get a chorizo, potato, egg, and cheese taco with extra tortillas. That, along with their salsa, is one of my favorite breakfasts in Austin.

Leave a Reply

