Austin

Dinner Theater: Alamo Drafthouse Food and Fun

In Dinner, Mason Scheer on December 5, 2010 at 8:31 pm

The Alamo Drafthouse on 6th. Photo by Mason Scheer

By: Mason Scheer

When asked, people will always come up with a basic outline for a date. Dinner, a movie, then a late night kiss at the doorstep. I’m a bit of a traditional guy, so I really enjoy dinner and a movie. Lucky for me, there’s a place where I can do both.

The Alamo Drafthouse.

Without question, one of my favorite places ever is the Drafthouse. It’s so much more than just a regular movie theater. Yes, they feature new releases. But that’s not why I go. I’m in it for the original content and special events. Sing-a-longs, live comedy, limited releases, Q&A sessions with the directors, they have it all. This past Friday, I went to see Master Pancake, who have been voted consistently one of the best improv troupes in Austin.

But you’re here for the food part of it.

Top quality chefs run the place. This isn’t some cheap knock-off, you get the real deal. My date had the three cheese grilled cheese that looked and tasted delicious (yes, I have had it before). We also split the homemade cookies, which were probably the richest and “chocolatiest” cookies I’ve ever had.

Am I slightly biased? Probably. This place has defined my stay in Austin for the past 3 years. Where else can you watch an original creation, and have a beer brought out to you? I’ve probably gone to the Drafthouse once every two weeks since my freshman year. And I’m going to keep going even after I graduate.

Please go to the Alamo Drafthouse. It is, in my humble opinion, the best place in Austin. Bar none.

  1. I love Alamo Drafthouse! I definitely have not been there enough times. What particular events to you recommend attending? I’ve only gone to see movies, I didn’t know they hosted shows.

Leave a Reply

