Austin

Bacon Week: Bacon + Donut = Best Idea Ever

In Bacon Week, Breakfast, Dessert, Dish Review, Food Cart, Rebecca Adams on November 20, 2010 at 9:29 pm

The Flying Pig donut at Gourdoughs. Photo by Rebecca Adams

By Rebecca Adams

“You’ve got to be kidding me.”

This was the first thing that came out of my mouth when a friend told me about the Flying Pig donut at Gourdoughs.  This delectable, heart-attack inducing monstrosity consists of a fluffy donut doused in maple syrup icing, topped with a mound of crunchy bacon.  It isn’t too hard to imagine my surprise that this mythical creation actually exists.

The Gourdoughs food trailer. Photo by Rebecca Adams

In honor of Eat Cetera’s Arbitrary Bacon Week, I decided to sample the Flying Pig for my first trip to Gourdoughs trailer and I was nothing short of blown away.  Gourdoughs is an Austin food cart institution that lives up to its reputation for cooking up the best donuts in town.  Their famous Flying Pig had a more cake-like consistency than your typical donut and the frosting added that perfect breakfast meets dessert taste without being too heavy.  The star of the dish was, without a doubt, the bacon.  It was slightly burnt and not too salty, just the way I like it.

The Funky Monkey donut at Gourdoughs. Photo by Rebecca Adams

The Son of a Peach donut at Gourdoughs. Photo by Rebecca Adams

The donut, like all of their donuts, was overwhelmingly enormous but I downed the entire thing in a haze of deliciousness.  I went with two friends who let me try a bite of their donuts, the Son of a Peach (peach filling, cinnamon, sugar and cake mix topping) and the Funky Monkey (grilled bananas and cream cheese icing with brown sugar).  They were both great but I still maintain that the marriage of bacon and donut was the best terrible-for-you food I’ve ever tasted.  The only downside was the $4.25 price tag and the 45 minute wait so make sure to go when it’s not ridiculously crowded. But if you’re craving dessert for breakfast, I can’t imagine anywhere else better to go.

I wish every week was Arbitrary Bacon Week.

Gourdoughs
1219 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, Texas 78704

  1. […] locally sourced ingredients.  Located next to doughnut heaven Gourdoughs (Rebecca reviewed their Flying Pig for Bacon Week) on South Lamar, this restaurant is solid proof that solid proof that Austin has […]

Leave a Reply

