Austin

Why not spend your Saturday morning at a farm?

In East Austin, Farmer's Market, Rebecca Adams, Shopping, Vegetarian on November 14, 2010 at 3:45 pm

The entrance of Boggy Creek Farm Photo by Rebecca Adams

By Rebecca Adams

In attempt to keep up my fading health kick, I dragged myself out of bed at 8am Saturday morning to head down to Boggy Creek Farm to buy some fresh vegetables from their farmers’ market.  Driving up the small dirt road leading into the farm made me feel instantly as if I had left the craziness of Austin and entered a rural town, which was just what I needed to rejuvenate my fading detox aspirations.

Watermelon Radishes photo by Rebecca Adams

The small town feel was not the only draw.  The vegetables were incredibly fresh and the staff was helpful and willing to offer suggestions.  The selection wasn’t huge, but you can definitely find unconventional ingredients to contribute to a dish, like the unique taste of a crisp watermelon radish.  I sampled a small piece and I was pleasantly surprised at the slight sweet flavor.

For those of you who are less adventurous, you can pick up vegetable staples, like lettuce and sweet potatoes.  They even have a small refrigerated section with cheeses, eggs, marmalades, sauerkraut and other odds and ends.  The fresh herbs are also a good buy because they can instantly freshen up a dish.  If you’re a tea addict like I am, I recommend picking up some fresh mint and steeping it in hot water for a refreshing drink after a meal. I also couldn’t resist and ended up spending way too much money at the non-food related table with lavender products.

Fresh herbs at Boggy Creek Farm Photo by Rebecca Adams

Health kick aside, it feels really good to contribute to the local Austin economy and actually know where my food came from for once (and there are more benefits).  I had such a lovely morning at Boggy Creek that I want to venture out and find more small markets in Austin.  Does anybody know of another good one?

Boggy Creek Farm
3414 Lyons Road
Austin, Texas 78702
(512) 926 4650

  1. Hi Rebecca, thanks so much for stopping by my blog. It’s great to meet another Austin area food blogger! I have never actually been to Boggy Creek Farms, just the local farmers markets, so it’s wonderful to read about your experience here. Did you end up buying those watermelon radishes? They look crunchy and sharp and divine.

  2. Great post Rebecca. I am always looking for new things to do around the Austin area and this definitely sounds interesting. We so many times resort to buying all are vegetables from big supermarkets and forget to support the local farmers. About how long was the drive?

  3. Thanks Rebecca, my respect for you for waking up so early to report on such a unique place! One question though, do they have any rare fruits (I guess something other than just veggies)? thanks!

Leave a Reply

