Austin

Lunch at Your Mom’s

In Lunch, Mason Scheer, Restaurant Review on November 13, 2010 at 10:53 pm

The James Brown at Your Mom's. Photo by Mason Scheer

By Mason Scheer

I have always been a fan of puns. I’m a sucker for it. They tickle me in just the right way. I am fully aware I’m in the minority about this, but I don’t care.

So you know full well I had to go to a place called Your Mom’s.

Your Mom’s Burger Bar is on the east side, right off Cesar Chavez. It’s a bit hidden from view, so you’d have to be on the lookout. I went with my roommate, and even at 3:30 on a Saturday, the place was packed. We ended up taking one of the picnic tables outside, which ended up being a bit of a mistake.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved the food there. Our server was actually the delivery driver, who takes a few tables every so often. He was a really nice kid, but he was more of a middle-man. Despite that, we had a really nice meal.

There was a bit of a delay between our orders being taken and delivered, so our waiter brought out Fried Pickles on the house. My roommate doesn’t care for them, but I scarfed them down. They weren’t too breaded, where the only thing you can taste is the batter coating. And they were free, which makes it all the better. I followed that up with

the “Irish Nachos”, which is the name given for Cheese Fries.

Irish Nachos. Photo by Mason Scheer

But the burgers are what bring the business. In something that isn’t seen that often, the cheese is actually stuffed inside the meat. As my roommate described it, the cheese is “gushing out with each bite”. And the toppings and sauces are unique for burgers. Lemon pepper spread? Spinach and artichokes? You don’t see that every day. And each burger is named after a celebrity. I myself had the James Brown – which for some reason came with a BBQ sauce spread.

Burgers are always a treat. Burgers with a pun-tastic name are my bread and butter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

