Austin

Sweet night at the Gypsy Picnic.

In Dessert, Festival, Food Cart, Joshua Avelar, Snacks on November 7, 2010 at 4:47 pm

 

The Gypsy Picnic at Auditorium Shores. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

By Joshua Avelar

The first annual Gypsy Picnic at Austin’s Auditorium shores went smoothly. The event showcasing Austin’s most famous and original food trailers came during a brisk Saturday afternoon and lasted throughout the chilly November night. Fittingly, the last two hours of the festival made ample desert time, as most of the trailers had already ran out of food. There’s nothing like warm, delicious sweets to end a cool evening.

The first place I visited to please my sweet tooth was Bananarchy, a South Austin trailer usually located on 600 S. Lamar by a scooter shop. Bananarchy offers frozen bananas dipped in chocolate, peanut butter, vanilla or vegan chocolate and topped with your choice of topping, ranging from nuts to graham crackers to cinnamon. I opted for crushed Oreos and they did not disappoint! The combination of the cold banana with the warm chocolate made for a great experience, with the Oreo crumbs making it a completely satisfying treat. This run-in with Bananarchy made me vow to come visit their trailer again sometime soon during regular business hours. They offer either whole or half bananas, with the halves making more manageable on-the-go snacks.

 

Bananarchy trailer. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

 

Frozen half-banana dipped in chocolate and topped with Oreos. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

While I was waiting in line at Bananarchy, some friends of mine made a visit to Holy Cacao, usually located in the South First Street trailer park next to Torchy’s Tacos. Holy Cacao offers a variety of good chocolate treats like s’mores hot chocolate. One of my friends opted for the Diablo Cake Ball, chocolate cake mixed with cayenne cream cheese frosting, dipped in dark chocolate and then topped with walnuts and cayenne pepper.

 

Holy Cacao trailer. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

 

Diablo Cake Ball from Holy Cacao. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

My night at the Gypsy Picnic ended with a delicious fresh doughnut from Gourdough’s, a doughnut trailer usually located on 1219 S Lamar by 8th Street. The dish I tried from the trailer was the Cherry Bomb, a fresh doughnut covered in cherry sauce, cinnamon, sugar and a cake-mix topping. Gourdough’s is no place for an after-dinner sweets fix. The treats they offer are definitely fit for a whole meal and will definitely fill you up.

 

Gourdough's trailer. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

 

 

The Cherry Bomb from Gourdough's. By Joshua Avelar.

 

Overall I had a great time at the Gypsy picnic and I would like to go again some day. I discovered new favorites in Austin and enjoyed the clear, cool night with a nice view of the Austin skyline. I look forward to seeing this festival grow in popularity in the coming years as its inaugural event was such a huge success.

  1. Wow, they all look so sweet and delicious! A torture at night time! But which was your favorite?

  2. Ok you hit the two dessert trailers I wanted to during the Gypsy Picnic in Austin: Bananarchy & Holy Cacao. There were peeps walking around with a chocolate milk drink with a bubble tea straw in it (wo the bubbles). I asked them were it was from & they stated,Holy Cacao…yumm! Bananarchy is an Austin young legend I have not tried yet, but obviously need to after reading your post! My wife and friends went for Gourdough…Flying Pig and the Cherry Bomb! Amazing Amazing! Check out my Gypsy Picnic experience & pics at the link in my name.

  3. I went to the Gypsy Picnic during the day as well but I didn’t really find what I was looking for – I think I was expecting something more avant-garde than just the well-known trailers lined up with the same stuff.

Leave a Reply

