Austin

New discoveries at my favorite place

In Dinner, Joshua Avelar, Lunch on October 11, 2010 at 1:07 am

Longhorn Po-Boys. Photo by Joshua Avelar.


By Joshua Avelar

I moved into my first off-campus apartment in the summer of 2008. During move-in day, I noticed a distinct yet extremely pleasant smell surrounding the complex every time I stepped outside. The pungent yet enjoyable aroma of grilled lamb, steak and pork immediately led me to Longhorn Po-Boys and Falafel across the street. From the first time I stepped in that place and devoured a house-made gyro with seasoned fries, I knew I had found something special.

The small hangout connected to its sister business, the Lava Java Coffee House, has a menu more diverse than the UT student body. The Mediterranean food selection consists of classic favorites like chicken shawarma, tabouli, hummus and baba ghanoush. However, Po-Boys also has a wide variety of great cold cuts and grilled sandwiches. The Puerco Manchego, made with shredded pork, fresh Spanish manchego cheese, serrano ham and crisp apple slices, became a staple of my monthly diet when it made its debut about a year ago. The Falvo, made of chicken shawarma, baby spinach, tzatziki sauce, bacon and cheddar cheese also became a favorite item of mine.

Po-Boys also has an incredible hamburger selection, complete with crazy concoctions containing anything from fried eggs to chorizo. The size of these things would put Mondo Burger to shame.

Cheeseburger at Longhorn Po-Boys. Photo by Joshua Avelar


Having been a regular for over two years, I felt it was finally time to try one of the newer menu items: The Steak Bomb. This hot sandwich has grilled Angus steak, grilled salami, a few good grilled onions, grilled tomatoes and a nice helping of provolone that melted oh-so-nicely with all the excess heat from the other items. I always said the hardest part about eating at Po- Boys is deciding what to eat. After trying The Steak Bomb, I now know that decision will be even harder next time.

The Steak Bomb with a bottle of all-natural Texas Tea. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

Leave a Reply

