Austin

Austin City Limits redefines festival food

In Dessert, Dinner, Lunch on October 11, 2010 at 1:12 am

 

Austin City Limits

 

 

Forget fried twinkies and chili cheese fries.  In true Austin fashion, the ACL food lineup was just as eclectic as the artists playing the festival.  Sweet Leaf tea was plentiful (but not cheap) and music fans choices ranged from Hyde Park Bar & Grill’s famous French fries to a shrimp sandwich from Aquarelle Restaurant & Wine Bar to snacking on some Tiff’s Treats.  It is so refreshing to see how local the food choices were, as opposed to the typical greasy food that we are stuck with at most outdoor festivals.

I chose to munch on a grilled chicken chipotle wrap from Galaxy Cafe since I was inundated with choices and it’s always a safe bet.  I was shocked when the wrap tasted fresh and just as delicious as it is when I order it from the brick and mortar location in The Triangle.  For some reason, I expected the food to be a subpar version of the “real” thing but it was definitely a pleasant surprise.

For the most part, lines moved quickly and the assembly line service was still friendly.  The one exception was the sno cone line that never had less than 30 people in it.  Fortunately, I was able to brave it and enjoy the watermelon flavored ice while Devendra Banhart played one of the best shows I have ever seen in my life.

  1. Great post! I was surprised to see so many food choices during and after ACL. Didn’t have too much time to munch on something but next year I definitely will.

  2. I heard that the food at ACL was super expensive? Is that true?

Leave a Reply

