Austin

They’re like really-thin pancakes!

In Breakfast, Dessert, Joshua Avelar, Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian, Vietnamese on October 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Crepes Mille's diverse menu. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

By Joshua Avelar

I’m not one of those “breakfast food, anytime” types. I feel scrambled eggs, waffles, pancakes and the like, ought to be saved for the early hours of the morning – regardless if those early-morning hours came before or after sleeping time.

So when I first heard about trailers in Austin selling crepes, I became a bit hesitant to try them. Don’t get me wrong, I love crepes enough to say it aloud no matter how unpatriotic that may make me seem.

Grouping these thin delicacies as breakfast items made me reluctant to eat them at sunset. However, I grabbed a group of my friends Friday night and headed down to the corner of South Congress Avenue and West Gibson Street to try the Crepes Mille trailer.

Right away I was pleased to find a diverse menu. The folks at Crepes Mille offered their dishes in the form of Sweet, the all-too-familiar school of thought that crepes should be stuffed with fruit and sugar-based products; Savory, filled with a wide variety of meat-based meal options; and Vegetarian, an obligatory menu option for any food vendor in Austin to carry.

Right away I was pleased to find a diverse menu. Crepes Mille offered their dishes in the form of Sweet, the all-too-familiar school of thought that crepes should be stuffed with fruit and sugar-based products; Savory, filled with a wide variety of meat-based meal options; and Vegetarian, an obligatory option for any food vendor in Austin to carry.

The four friends who accompanied me on this trip all ordered something off the Sweet side of the menu while I decided to cross into unfamiliar territory and order something from the Savory side. Always a fan of eating unfamiliar cuisine, I tried the Pork Floss crepe stuffed with shredded pork, Thai chili paste and thin grilled onions, topped-off with a small drizzle of sriracha sauce and mayonnaise. Luckily, the mayonnaise was not noticeable and basically served a garnish rather than an essential ingredient. The pork was delicious as well. The menu described the pork as “dried” but I had to disagree with that description. The pork was quite juicy without leaving any always-annoying pig grease. The Thai chili paste was subtle as well, giving the crepe a nice added flavor without distracting my taste buds from the actual meat.

The Pork Floss crepe. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

It was hard to pick a favorite from the Sweet menu, but the Berry Delight ended up the winner. Stuffed with sweet cream and cheese and topped with an assorted berry sauce, whipped cream and breakfast cereal, it was absolutely the most bang for your buck on the menu. The combination of those sugary ingredients was strangely not overbearing– all of them came together and complimented each other to the point of absolute satisfaction.

Berry Surprise. Photo by Joshua Avelar.

One of the owners of the trailer – who only identified himself only as Pong – said the Savory and Vegetarian crepes were based on Pandan leaves, a staple of Thai cuisine that make for a light texture and just the right amount of dinner-time flavoring. The Sweet crepes were vanilla-based, so the actual crepe that wraps the food definitely matches the aesthetic of the dish. Crepes Mille will be closed from Oct. 12 through Oct. 20, so I’m glad I got to try these before the trailer goes on a operational hiatus. Be sure to welcome them back to business in over a week with a hungry stomach and open mind.

  1. I hear this place is really good! I think I saw them on the travel channel…

    • Definitely worth a try. They even have a build-your-own crepe option. A friend of mine got white chocolate and strawberries–delicious.

  2. They have a pork crepe? Wow I’ve got to try that! I’m marking off Oct. 21 on my calender, right now.

  3. I have yet to try the crepes in Austin! Heard they’re really famous. Would you say this place is the best out of all the competing crepe trucks?

Leave a Reply

